Candidates Nominated for Election at the 136th SCI Annual General Meeting



Below are the details of candidates who have applied for vacant positions on SCI's Board of Trustees and its Standing Committees.

MEMBERSHIP COMMITTEE

Ordinary Member of the Membership Committee



Dr Maryam Bayati

I received my PhD from University of Liverpool in Electrocatalysis by Nanoparticles in Low Temperature Fuel Cells in 2007. Since then I worked in several projects in academia and industry. I have been a member of several societies including RSC, ACS and SCI. Since 2016, I was an ordinary members of the Membership Affairs Committee, SCI and its Energy Landmark Committee.

I have been a member of several societies including RSC, ACS and SCI. Since 2016, I was an ordinary member of the Membership Affairs Committee, SCI and its Energy Landmark Committee. As a member of these societies, I know very well what a member expects from a society and also as a committee member, I am aware of the ability, limitation and potential of the society and how it can meet and respond the members` needs. I also believe that the society should involve industry more for the bilateral benefit of them and the members.

As an ordinary members of the Members Committee, my aim will be to advise the Board of Trustees and the Executive on ways and means of enhancing the value of SCI membership. I would like to use my experience as a member of several scientific societies to fulfil this task. As a member, I have learnt about the ways a flourishing and successful society should work to support its member at different level of their career and I would like to take this opportunity to do my best to achieve this goal. My focus is on responding to the needs of members at different level of their career and involving more industrial groups for their interest and the interest of all members and the society.

There are three options for voting this year:

- 1. Voting by post (postal votes must be returned to the Independent Scrutineer)
- 2. Online voting
- 3. Vote in person at the Annual General Meeting

Monday 26 June Wednesday 28 June Wednesday 5 July