## Candidates Nominated for Election at the 136th SCI Annual General Meeting



Below are the details of candidates who have applied for vacant positions on SCI's Board of Trustees and its Standing Committees.

## **MEMBERSHIP COMMITTEE**

Ordinary Member of the Membership Committee



## Professor (Emeritus) Raymond Jones

Professor of Organic and Biological Chemistry at Loughborough University from 2000-2016, retiring 30 September 2016. Previously Lecturer and Senior Lecturer in Organic Chemistry at Nottingham University 1973-1995, and Professor of Organic Chemistry at Open University 1995-1999. Published 135 research papers on heterocyclic chemistry and 20 reviews or book chapters. Joined SCI Fine Chemicals Group Committee (FCG) in 1996. I have been on the organising committees for 32 one-day and multi-day scientific meetings for FCG. Member of Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) Organic Division Council since 1997, serving two terms as President and one term on RSC Council.

As a member of an SCI committee, I am well aware of the structure of the SCI. I have very much appreciated the interaction of academic and industrial members that the SCI provides. I have experience of administrative and leadership roles through Loughborough University (as Director of Research and Director of Studies), SCI-FCG and RSC (Organic Division and Heterocyclic and Synthesis Group); I have been a Trustee of RSC as an elected Council Member. I believe I can act as an effective link between the SCI membership, industrial and academic, and the Board of Trustees and the Executive.

To fulfil its strapline 'where science meets business' SCI should expand its membership, which may require creative new schemes for membership and industry engagement, and increase its visibility in the scientific community via its programmes of activities and events, evolving with increasing use of social media and digital opportunities. SCI must (with other learned societies) act as a strong voice for science and scientific industry in a rapidly changing external environment. I would, via Membership Committee, ensure that members' ideas are represented to SCI 'management', and vice versa, in the best interests of the scientific community.

There are three options for voting this year:

- 1. Voting by post (postal votes must be returned to the Independent Scrutineer)
- 2. Online voting
- 3. Vote in person at the Annual General Meeting

Monday 26 June Wednesday 28 June Wednesday 5 July