Candidates Nominated for Election at the 135th SCI Annual General Meeting



Below are the details of candidates who have applied for vacant positions on SCI's Board of Trustees and its Standing Committees.

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Ordinary Members of the Board of Trustees



Professor Charles ALAN Heaton

Formerly Professor of Chemical Education and Head of Chemistry at Liverpool John Moores University, with strong links with industry. Ran the very successful SCI/LJMU Schools/Industry project for 10 years. Chair of Liverpool Section a unique 3 times and first chair of Liverpool&NW RIG. Served several terms as an elected member of MAC and BoT. Chair of Early Careers Committee (formerly ECSSC) and Principal of College of Scholars (CoS). Currently Trustee link with Fine Chemicals and Macro TIGs and Liverpool&NW RIG.

I also served on the Awards committee and Council.

I have been a very active member of all my committees and continue to be on BoT. My contributions to SCI were recognized in 2004 with the award of the Lampitt medal. Since 2009 I have led the society's Early Career activities from Belgrave Sq as Chair of the Early Careers Committee and Principal of CoS. These are, arguably, SCI's most successful initiatives at HQ in recent years.

Through my Trustee links with RIGs and TIGs I am in an excellent position to represent the views of ALL members, although clearly focusing on Early Career ones.

During the past year on BoT I have contributed to making the society more dynamic and wish to continue with this.

I want to help make SCI a society that people want to join, remain in and become active members. As a member of BoT I would be in an excellent position to gain support for our ambitious plans for the expansion of Early Career activities and support for our members.

Importantly I have the commitment, energy and time to fulfil the role of Trustee and have already clearly demonstrated that I am a team player.

There are three options for voting this year:

- 1. Voting by post (postal votes must be returned to the Independent Scrutineer)
- 2. Online voting
- 3. Vote in person at the Annual General Meeting

5pm, Friday 17 June Thursday 30 June Wednesday 6 July