

SCI/XX001

DRAFT MINUTES OF THE ONE HUNDRED AND THIRTY 138th ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING, HELD AT 14/15 BELGRAVE SQUARE, LONDON ON WEDNESDAY, 3 JULY 2019 AT 13:45

MEMBERS PRESENT: Dr Alan Baylis, Chairman of the Board of Trustees; Dr Geoff Fowler, Honorary Treasurer and Chairman of the Finance and Investments Advisory Committee; and other members of SCI. Please refer to the last pages for a full list of attendees.

SCI STAFF IN ATTENDANCE: Ms Sharon Todd, Chief Executive; Miss Elisabeth Vinton, Executive PA (Minute taker); Mrs Karen Hobbs, Head of Stakeholder Engagement; Mrs Reshna Radiven (Project Manager); Mr Ian Bradshaw (Interim Marketing & Membership Manager); Miss Rebecca Aris (Digital Editor); Mr Neil Eisberg (C&I Editor); Mr Duncan Robertson, Management Accountant; and other staff members.

RESOLUTION 1: Meeting Notice - Members present and apologies: Please refer to the last page for a full list of apologies received from members.

INTRODUCTION & WELCOME

Dr Alan Baylis welcomed all those present and outlined the agenda for the AGM. The agenda presented was as follows;

•	Notice: Members present and apologies	Resolution 1
•		Resolution
٠	Chairman's Review 2018/19	
•	Financial Review 2018/19	
٠	Note receipt and approval of previous minutes	Resolution 2
•	Note the retirements of members of the Board of Trustees &	
	Finance & Investment Advisory Committee	
•	Note the unopposed election of governance members	Resolution 3
•	Note receipt of the Board of Trustees Annual Report	Resolution 4
•	Note receipt and adoption of Financial Statements	Resolution 5
•	Approval of Membership Subscriptions	Resolution 6
•	Any other business	
	Other to any discussion	

Strategy review

CHAIRMAN'S REVIEW 2018/2019

The Chair reviewed the highlights from 2018/19. He opened with a comment on the quality and variety of events hosted and arranged by SCI during the year, which enforced SCIs strategy and key values. This included the re launch of the Society Medal and Dinner in February 2019, which was a great success. The Chair also highlighted growing community of corporate members, and the importance of the work of the Chemistry Council.

The Chair thanked the retiring Trustees and Committee members whose terms had ended.

Page 1 of 4



FINANCIAL REVIEW 2018/2019

The Honorary Treasurer, Dr Geoffrey Fowler, gave a brief financial review of 2018/19. It was noted that there is a deficit of £488k, which is mostly due to issues with investments. Publications, conferences and premises remained the main sources of income for the society, and the Honorary Treasurer thanked the CEO and finance team at SCI for keeping the finances in good shape.

RESOLUTION 2: To receive and adopt Minutes of the 137th Annual General Meeting *(SCI/WW001)*

Votes:

For: 35 Against: 0

Abstentions: 3

RESOLUTION 3: To note the unopposed elections of the following:

- Ordinary Members of the Board of Trustees
 - Dr David Birkett
 - Prof Jenny Mordue-Luntz
 - Dr Jan Ramakers
 - Prof K. Clive Thompson
 - Dr David Witty
 - Dr Tiffany Wood

Note and thanks of retiring members of the Board of Trustees:

- Dr Inna Baigozina-Goreli
- Mr John Brown
- Prof Alan Heaton
- Chair of the Finance and Investments Advisory Committee
 Dr Geoff Fowler
- Ordinary Members of the Finance and Investments Advisory Committee
 - Mr Derek Heywood
 - Mr Peter Reineck

Note and thanks of retiring member of the Finance and Investments Advisory Committee:

- Mr John Brown
- Member of the Early Careers Sub Committee
 Ms Libby Linfield

RESOLUTION 4: To note receipt of the Board of Trustees Annual Report 2018

RESC Votes	To adopt the S	ociety	's Financial Sta	itement 2018	
For:	 Against:	1		Abstentions:	2
	 				-

RESOLUTION 6: To note the recommendation that membership subscription rates remain unchanged, effective from 1 January 2020

Member standard fee: £90.00				Payment by direct debit: £75.00		
Student standard fee: £25.00			00	Payment by direct debit: £15.00		
Votes:						
For:	35	Against:	3	Abstentions: 0		

Page 2 of 4

SCI/XX001



Any other business:

A question was asked about membership fees, and whether there are any measures in place for those who, for financial reasons, were unable to access membership and therefore attend events. The Chair reminded them that the Public Evening Lectures offered by SCI are free of charge. The CEO also stated that there is a hardship category available, and to contact the membership team with any related queries.

Member Peter Reineck enquired why there were only 38 responses to the votes and commented on the availability and accessibility of the most recent financial statements. The Honorary Treasurer assured him that hard copies had been made available at the morning of the meeting and were made available electronically on the website and through links in the voting pack in advance. The CEO reiterated that any hard copy voting packs must be requested as the default is to make the information available online.

A discussion took place about the progress of the new SCI website. The CEO requested any feedback on functionality as it would add to improvements.

SCI Strategy and Forward Plan, Sharon Todd, CEO

The CEO, Sharon Todd, gave a short presentation on SCI's Strategy and priorities going forward. She described the significant progress made by the Society and the continued efforts to grow the membership and develop new activities. Significant progress has been made on the first two of the four pillar-ed strategy adopted in 2015 in the areas of realigning the Society and Reconnecting with Industry. The two remaining areas are of Building an Innovation Agenda and to Re-engage and Grow the Membership. The CEO gave an update on infrastructure projects, and how SCI has started work on Building an Innovation Agenda by supporting the development and launch of the Chemistry Council in 2018. Building an Innovation Agenda also involves supporting the UK's Industrial Strategy and supporting the Chemistry Council in securing funding through the Sector Deal.

Looking to the future, SCI's focus is on bringing together communities to work to provide sustainable solutions to global challenges, particularly in the areas of AgriFood, Energy, Environment, Health and Wellbeing and Materials.

The Chief Executive noted the significant input and hard work of all members, staff and volunteers and thanked them for their efforts.

There being no more business, the Chairman of the Board of Trustees declared the meeting closed.

Next year's Annual General Meeting will take place on: Wednesday 1 July 2020.

AGM DRAFT Minutes 3 July 2019

Page 3 of 4

SCI/XX001



Full list of attendees

Pauline Allen David Berry Holly Bonfield Nick Bourne Edwina Brejza **Thomas Britten** Diane Brown John Brown Daven Chamerlain Charlotte Crowhurst Craig Duckham Stephen East Malcolm Faers Xiaolei Fan John Farmer Amy Flinn Alison Foster Susan Grayeff Anthony Greenway Peter Grimbly Paul Hadley Peter Hambleton John Hardy Mark Harrison Robin Harrison Alan Heaton Joy Heaton Maarten Heybroek

Derek Heywood **Raymond Jones** Fiona Laraman Stephen Lenon Sarah Madden Ivalina Minova Jenny Mordue-Luntz Xin Ong Angelica Orsi Stefan Orszulik Brett Parkinson Frederick Parrett Simon Peace Julian Perfect Jona Ramadani Peter Reineck Carl Roeschlaub Barry Rossell Sudipta Roy **Michael Smith** David Stonor Fabien Talbot Jason Tierney David Witty **Tiffany Wood** Weiping Wu Zulfa Yoosuf Anna Zhenova

Full list of apologies received by members

Inna Baigozina - Goreli Graham Byars Thomas Moore Jan Ramakers Eric Richards Joe Sweeney

AGM DRAFT Minutes 3 July 2019

Page 4 of 4