Candidates Nominated for Election at the 136th SCI Annual General Meeting

S C I where science meets business

Below are the details of candidates who have applied for vacant positions on SCI's Board of Trustees and its Standing Committees.

MEMBERSHIP COMMITTEE

Ordinary Members of the Membership Committee



Dr John Hardy

John Hardy is a Lecturer in Materials Chemistry at the University of Lancaster. He is a multidisciplinary scientist with experience in chemistry, materials science, pharmacy and biomedical engineering. He has held various positions in research and academia, working in various locations such as Strasbourg (France), Bayreuth (Germany), Austin (Texas), Gainesville (Florida), and Belfast. John has been an SCI member since 2003 and currently sits on the Materials Chemistry Young Scientists' Sub Committee.

John has interacted extensively with industry throughout his career, with both multinationals (Galvani Bioelectronics, GSK, Syngenta and Teleflex) and SMEs (USA and UK-based). John is reponsible for a variety of academic leadership and engagement roles, at the Departmental, Faculty and Institutional levels. He was on the organising committee for two conferences at Lancaster (notably the Recent Appointees in Materials Science 2016 conference), and organizes the Royal Society of Chemistry's public lectures in Lancashire. Pertinent to the SCI Members Committee are those as Academic Employability Champion and Undergraduate Research Career Mentor.

As an early career academic with an interdisciplinary background a passion for chemistry-related science/ engineering I would be delighted to serve the SCI membership committee and membership by promoting events aimed at promoting interactions of academics and industrialists with the public (including advisory/governmental bodies), in the hope of increasing membership applications & engagement from students and early career scientists/engineers (e.g. through networking event organization).

There are three options for voting this year:

- 1. Voting by post
- 2. Online voting
- 3. Vote in person at the Annual General Meeting

Monday 26 June Wednesday 28 June Wednesday 5 July