## Candidates Nominated for Election at the 135th SCI Annual General Meeting



Below are the details of candidates who have applied for vacant positions on SCI's Board of Trustees and its Standing Committees.

## FINANCE AND INVESTMENTS ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Ordinary Members of the Finance and Investments Advisory Committee



## **Mr Peter Stephenson Reineck**

I have over 30 years experience as a manager and consultant in the chemical industry, and as an active Member of SCI. For SCI Canada 1998 - 2004, I organised six successful Annual Awards events and the Centennial Conference. I served on MDAC and Awards Committee (now Early Career Support Sub-Committee). Currently I serve on MAC, Agrisciences, Science & Enterprise, Energy, and Yorkshire & the Humber Group committees. As Chair of SEG until 2015, I founded the Energy Group. I was involved in organising several events including the Y&H Group Annual Awards event and several conferences for SEG and ASG.

I have a wealth of experience in strategic planning and implementation, and a deep understanding of the options to achieve organisational growth and development, as well as the critical importance of reputation. If elected, I would work with FIAC Chair to propose and implement strategies that would provide best value for SCI's Members. A key factor for success will be how best to manage, grow and utilise SCI's precious financial resources. In particular, I will support proposals to increase income to enable SCI to invest in the resources it needs to implement its strategies for growth and development.

I share with other forward-looking Members a vision in which SCI leads and influences thinking about science and its connection to business and society. This would mean wider recognition and a bigger audience for SCI's work, and engaging with government and influencing policy. In the longer term, it would also help drive increased Membership and greater income and financial security for SCI.

There are three options for voting this year:

- 1. Voting by post (postal votes must be returned to the Independent Scrutineer)
- 2. Online voting
- 3. Vote in person at the Annual General Meeting

5pm, Friday 17 June Thursday 30 June Wednesday 6 July