Candidates Nominated for Election at the 137th SCI Annual General Meeting

SCI where science meets business

Below are the details of candidates who have applied for vacant positions on SCI's Board of Trustees and its Standing Committees.

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Chair of the Board of Trustees



Dr Alan David Baylis

I am the Director of an independent consultancy established 14 years ago after spending 20 years in global R&D management with Syngenta, Zeneca and ICI in agriculture. I have a PhD and MBA, and have always been involved in science and business. I have been a member of SCI for nearly 15 years, holding all officer positions in several Technical Interest Groups, including being Chair of Agrisciences Group for eight years. I have organised around 25 SCI conferences and have strongly promoted early career activities. I have served on the Membership Committee and have been a Trustee since 2014.

I have been Chair of the Board of Trustees since 2015. During this time SCI has made a great deal of progress, creating more impact while achieving a much more satisfactory financial position. I have worked with the Board and Executive Director to shape a more congruent and relevant SCI, based on a clear purpose and strategy, aiming to build a sustainable platform for the future. I have focused on promoting a positive and progressive culture within a more effective system of governance, which in turn has allowed a more efficient and successful approach to SCI's operations.

SCI must complete and consolidate the progress made, and continue to be more external facing: connecting and engaging with its stakeholders, working to support innovation within existing national and international frameworks that identify business, social and environmental challenges and key technologies. My overall vision is to see SCI mobilising all its assets to fully re-establish a strong brand with a reputation for quality and value in the contemporary, multi-sector, multi-disciplinary chemical industry. This will come from being recognised as a premier facilitator and connector, giving distinctive opportunities for exchanging knowledge, supporting innovation and furthering careers.

There are two options for voting this year:

1. Voting by post

2. Online voting

Monday 25 June Wednesday 27 June