Candidates Nominated for Election at the 137th SCI Annual General Meeting

Below are the details of candidates who have applied for vacant positions on SCI's Board of Trustees and its Standing Committees.

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Dr Mark Anthony Harrison

its launch.

Ordinary Member of the Board of Trustees

With my background in technology and manufacturing, I aim to bring a practical perspective on what science meets business means for SCI now and in the future; specifically how we turn words into actions. The effective

and efficient function of the Board of Trustees - and how this engages with SCI members and groups - is a continuing passion for me, where I hope I exploit my industry experience to best effect. As a visiting lecturer at Newcastle University, I also try and bring experience of what our future membership need and can offer to sustain SCI in a rapidly changing environment.

I have worked in roles across manufacturing, technology, environment, health and safety in the petrochemicals and polymers industry for 29 years, where I have always strived to apply science for the good of business and society alongside a range of industry partners (peer companies, technology providers, academia and regulators). I have held director positions within an industry association (UKOPA) and in the charitable sector (thedps.co.uk). I have served two prior terms as a member of the Board of Trustees and I have chaired the SCI's Energy Group since

I have been involved with SCI governance for five years, but I continue to be inspired by SCI's people, heritage and potential. In our TIGs, RIGs and HQ team we have tremendous capability, which the Board of Trustees must support and connect together even more through clear strategy, efficient processes and open dialogue, to engage fully the talents of our current members and draw in the next generation of members. I am convinced there is a unique role for SCI into the future to bring together all those involved across the science and business community.

There are two options for voting this year:

1. Voting by post

2. Online voting

Monday 25 June Wednesday 27 June







