Candidates Nominated for Election at the 136th SCI Annual General Meeting



Below are the details of candidates who have applied for vacant positions on SCI's Board of Trustees and its Standing Committees.

PUBLICATIONS COMMITTEE

Ordinary Members of the Publications Committee



Dr John Hardy

John Hardy is a Lecturer in Materials Chemistry at the University of Lancaster. He is a multidisciplinary scientist with experience in chemistry, materials science, pharmacy and biomedical engineering. He has held various positions in research and academia, working in the UK, France, Germany and the USA. John regularly acts as a peer reviewer for grants and academic journals (>70) and serves on the editorial board of Future Science OA, Gels and the International Journal of Molecular Sciences. John has been an SCI member since 2003 and currently sits on the Materials Chemistry Young Scientists' Sub Committee.

John has interacted extensively with industry throughout his career, with both multinationals (Galvani Bioelectronics, GSK, Syngenta and Teleflex) and SMEs (USA and UK-based). John is responsible for a variety of academic leadership and engagement roles, at the Departmental, Faculty and Institutional levels. John is a proponent of academic service and regularly acts as a peer reviewer for grants and academic journals (>70) and serves on the editorial board of Future Science OA, Gels and the International Journal of Molecular Sciences.

As an early career academic with an interdisciplinary background a passion for chemistry-related science/ engineering I would be delighted to serve SCI and its membership by promoting publication in SCI journals, thereby enabling it to increase its revenue and promote engagement with the public in the UK and overseas.

There are three options for voting this year:

- 1. Voting by post (postal votes must be returned to the Independent Scrutineer)
- 2. Online voting
- 3. Vote in person at the Annual General Meeting

Monday 26 June Wednesday 28 June Wednesday 5 July