Candidates Nominated for Election at the 138th SCI Annual General Meeting



BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Ordinary Member of the Board of Trustees



Dr David Richard Witty

My career has been based in pharmaceutical research, development and business operations over 30 years; leading many multidisciplinary teams. I have experience in creating new enterprises, serving as a board director, and editing journals. At BoT I strive to ensure the professionalism of the commercial sector, and the successful groups I've nurtured, are mirrored in the behaviours and achievements of SCI Trustees. BoT needs to be fit for the purpose of guiding SCI through the challenges ahead: representing both established and new scientific endeavours, and being prepared for the impact of open access publishing and disruptive new technologies.

I have supported reforms to the BOT governance structure to improve effectiveness, strategic leadership, accountability and decision making processes. Through the Membership subcommittee I have worked with the executive team to find new ways to interact with our growing membership, including surveys, focus groups and interviews. I aim to continue to champion member interests, give feedback on BoT and MC activities and achieve greater transparency. I want SCI to provide effective group guidance and support, so where there are struggling or deficient groups, SCI can provide a way for them to transform, and achieve their potential.

I have been a member of SCI since the 1990s and joined the committee of the Fine Chemicals Group a few years later. There I helped organise many successful events, ranging from student competitions and training sessions to multi day international symposia, on topics related to my chemistry and pharmaceutical research background. I undertook all the officer roles of the FCG, including chair from 2013-15. I was elected to the board of Trustees in 2016 where I created the Membership Subcommittee, agreed its terms of reference and served as its first chair. I received a DSA in 2017.

There are two options for voting this year:

1. Voting by post

2. Online voting

Monday 24 June Wednesday 26 June