Candidates Nominated for Election at the 138th SCI Annual General Meeting



Below are the details of candidates who have applied for vacant positions on SCI's Board of Trustees and its Standing Committees.

FINANCE AND INVESTMENT ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Honorary Treasurer/Chairman of the Finance and Investment Advisory Committee



Dr Geoffrey David Fowler

I have been SCI Honorary Treasurer for the last 3 years and fully understand the financial systems of the Society. I have extensive financial management skills gained from my "day job" as an research active academic at Imperial College. My communication skills are excellent and my experience of Committees and their management is extensive. My research has a strong commercial/industrial focus addressing environmental issues related to water, resources and global challenges. These align well with SCI interests.

I want to ensure that the recent growth of the SCI is further strengthened by continued sound financial management, whilst working closely with the membership, Board of Trustees & HQ to continue to reinvigorate the Society. A particular area ripe for growth is SCI's support for PhD scholarships. By developing exisiting & creating new trust funds through income generation, the Society could become a key conduit for funding PhD students in partnership with Industry, Academia and UKRI, making SCI the core of a new research nexus.

I have been an active & dedicated member of the SCI since joining in 1991 whilst studying for my PhD. Over the last 28 years I have held several officer positions in SCI, including: chair of the EHS group; Chairman of TDC & MAC as well as acting on numerous SCI committees (Publications, Premises etc.). In 2016 I designed & led the recruitment process for the current SCI CEO. Currently, I am the Chair of the British Carbon Group and the SCI Honorary Treasurer & a Trustee. My dedication to the SCI was recognised in 2010 when I received the Lampitt Medal. I have extensive knowledge and understanding of the Society's modus operandi and raison d'être.

There are two options for voting this year:

- 1. Voting by post
- 2. Online voting