Science and Enterprise Group (SEG)

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

This meeting was held on Monday 6^{th} December 2021 at 6:00~pm

Location: Microsoft Teams Meeting

AGENDA

- 1. Attendees and apologies for absence
- 2. Chair's Report 2020
- 3. Honorary Treasurer's Report 2020
- 4. Officers of the Science and Enterprise Group Committee
- 5. Election of Ordinary Members of the Committee
- 6. Date of next AGM December 5th 2022 (time tba)

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Meeting held on Microsoft Teams at 5:00 pm, 6th December 2021

1. Those present

Craig Duckham (chair)
Jason Camp (secretary)
Tom Harrison
Charlotte Crowhurst
Alan Steven
Thomas Farmer
Jonathan Moseley
Jim Denness (prospective member)
John Hudson (prospective member)
Nicholas Watermeyer (Guest)

Apologies for absence

Neil Crabb Sheena Hindocha Dave Palmer Marijana Dragosavac Joanna Thurston Jean-Claude Pierre Tiffany Wood (treasurer) Martin Elliot

Not in attendance

Andreas Schätzlein Johnathan Matlock Karen Hobbs Rebecca Wood Tatiana Schofield David Bott

1a. Attendees and apologies for absence were received from: Neil Crabb, Sheena Hindocha, Dave Palmer Marijana Dragosavac, Joanna Thurston, Jean-Claude Pierre, Tiffany Wood

Attendees: In addition to those names above, we were joined by Peter Reineck

- 1b. Minutes from 2020 AGM held on 7th December
 - Draft minutes approved without any corrections

2. Chair's Report 2021

- Chair's reported submitted to committee
- Link to COP-26 SCI hosted Youth Panel in Edinburgh (<u>Link</u>), session recording available on YouTube "Countdown to Planet Zero Combating climate change with chemistry" (<u>Link</u>)
- Copy of Chair's report in appendix

Peter Reineck comment on regional collaborations – collaboration with other groups including Yorkshire & Humber: Brains to Bank type meeting. Action: Martin to speak with Peter to facilitate this interaction. Looking for content for programs. Energy group, chairman Andy Walker, CO₂ reduction work – happy to provide access to people with expertise in this area.

Action: Add Energy Group to agenda for next committee meeting (Jason)

• Noted: Report approved for the record

- 3. Honorary Treasurer's Report 2020
 - Treasurer's reported submitted to committee (presented by the Chair on behalf of the Treasurer)
 - Copy of report in appendix
 - Noted: Report approved for the record
- 4. Officers of the Science and Enterprise Group Committee were confirmed as follows:
 - Chair Craig Duckham
 - Treasurer Tiffany Wood
 - Secretary Jason Camp

Succession planning commences with a call for nominations for the Group Secretary position.

- 5. Election of Ordinary Members of the Committee
 - Formally, re-elect ordinary members. Noted.
 - Alan Steven Senior Principal Scientist at CatSci Ltd
 - Andreas Schätzlein CEO Nanomerics / UCL
 - Charlotte Crowhurst Partner, Potter-Clarkson
 - Jan Ramakers Independent consultant
 - Jonathan Moseley- Associate at Scientific Update Ltd
 - Marijana Dragosavac CSO Micropore Technologies and Loughborough University
 - Martin Elliot CCO Centillion Technology
 - Neil Crabb CEO Frontier IP Group
 - Rebecca Wood Open Innovation Coordinator, Croda
 - Tatiana Schofield Head of Knowledge Exchange at Royal College of Art
 - Thomas Farmer Leader of the Clean Synthesis Technology Platform (CSTP), University of York
 - Johnathan Matlock Co-founder of Science Angel Syndicate
 - Formally adopt new committee members (subject to receipt of completed nominations)
 - John Hudson (Early Careers member)
 - Jim Denness (Abel + Imray)
 - Nicholas Watermeyer (Withers and Rogers LLP)
 - Members stepping down from the committee
 - Kirk Malone Manchester Institute of Biotechnology
 - Lissa Herron Enterprise Outreach Manager at Converge challenge
 - Nicholas Bennett Senior Project Manager at The University of Nottingham
 - Clive Thompson Chief Scientist at ALS

The committee would like to formally thank them for their support.

- Two members are stepping away to concentrate on other commitments in 2022
 - Sheena Hindocha Knowledge Transfer Manager (Materials Chemistry) KTN
 - Alex Hewitt CEO Anaphite
- Craig formally announced his intent to step down as Chair in 2022
- Jason formally announced his intent to step down as Secretary in 2022
- Action: Nominations for secretary post please contact Jason/Craig in the first instance
- Looking to fill those roles as outlined in the "committee overview" as well as looking to add 5 SME members

Action: Recommendations welcome – please send these directly to Craig and Jason.

6. Date of next AGM

• December 5th 2022 at 6 pm – SCI HQ to post notices and arrange invitation

7. AOB