Minutes of 7th ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE SCIENCE AND ENTERPRISE GROUP (SEG) HELD AT SCI, 14/15 BELGRAVE SQUARE, LONDON, SW1X 8PS AT 13.00 ON WEDNESDAY 2nd DECEMBER 2015

Present

Attendees: Martin Elliott – Chair (ME); Peter Reineck – Prior Chair (PR); Patrick Kitt – Secretary (PK); Stuart Jordan – Treasurer (SJ); Brian Allin (BA); Lambros Antoniou (LA); Kieran Quill (KQ)

1. Welcome and Apologies

The Chair welcomed everyone to the meeting.

SEG Committee Member Apologies/absent: Steve East; Clive Thompson (CT); Rebecca Wood (RW); Inna Baigozina-Goreli (IBG); Kim Chandler (KC); Chris Deakin (CD); Craig Duckham (CDu); Gianfranco Figini (GF); Bryan Hanley (BH); Jeff Powell – SCI Trustee (JP)

SEG Member Apologies: Julia Hatton

The Chairman welcomed everyone to the meeting and declared the meeting quorate as seven members were present.

1. Minutes of the Previous AGM (December 2014)

The Minutes were accepted as a true record of the meeting and were proposed by PR and seconded by LA.

2. Chairman's Report for 2014-2015

ME verbally presented the Chairman's report for 2014-2015 which was not available prior to the meeting. A copy of the report is included with these minutes.

ME advised that Steve East (SE) – Fine Chemicals Group had been co-opted and that membership statistics would be covered in the final Chairman's Report

Initiatives

Over the past year, SEG supported a number of initiatives which were strongly aligned with its aims. The most significant were:

- SCI's support for Chemistry Growth Partnership and its strategic initiatives
- SCI's involvement in UK Chemicals Stakeholder Forum and the sustainability sub group
- Management of the relationship with CIA.
- Collaboration with stakeholder organisations including:
- o KTN Ltd.
- o RSC Industry and Technology Division
- The launch of the Energy Group
- Engagement with EMChem.
- SCI's Strategic Review and Landmark Programmes

We look forward to contributing to these initiatives and others during 2016.

3. Hon Treasurer's Report for 2014 - 2015

Stuart Jordan advised this report would be issued when 2015's expenses had been finalised.

Stuart mentioned that SCI anticipated a higher group activity spend in 2016 and emphasised that funds would be made available for a good case

KQ queried why no prizes had been awarded in 2015. ME explained that the lack of events in 2015 was due to the resignation of Events Coordinator.

4. Officers of the Science and Enterprise Group Committee

No officers are due to stand down so the following remain in situ for 2015 – 2016:

Martin Elliott – Chair Patrick Kitt – Secretary Stuart Jordan – Treasurer/ Vice Chair

5. Ordinary Members of the Committee

The following members continue in office for 2015 – 2016:

Lambros Antoniou

Inna Baigozina-Gorelli (SCI trustee)

Chris Deakin

Gianfranco Figini

Bryan Hanley

Carlos Harrison

Jeff Powell (SCI trustee)

Clive Thomson (SCI trustee)

Rebecca Wood

Brian Allin

Kieran Quill

Co-opted members for 2015 - 2016:

Kim Chandler (Electrochemical Technology Group)

Craig Duckham (Food Group)

Steve East (Fine Chemicals Group)

Committee Departures:

During the year, David Whitty and Andy Kerridge have stood down from their roles with FCG and Food groups. Carlos Harrison and Simon Festing (Co-opted) have also left as a consequence of career changes. As Hooshang Zavareh is not a member of SCI, he has also left the committee.

6. Date of next AGM and Committee Meetings:

AGM: Wednesday 1 December 2016 (Time tba)

Committee meetings:

- Thursday 3 March 2016 (Time tba)
- Thursday 2 June 2016 (joint meeting with CICA)
- Thursday 6 October 2016
- Thursday 1 December 201

7. Any Other Business

ME stated that all members should be made aware of the SCI mid-year 2016 elections

The meeting closed at 1.21 pm