We use cookies to ensure that our site works correctly and provides you with the best experience. If you continue using our site without changing your browser settings, we'll assume that you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use and how to manage them by reading our cookies policy. Hide

Perkin Medal

William Perkin

Established 1906

The Perkin Medal was established to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the discovery of mauveine. Today it is now widely acknowledged as the highest honour in American industrial chemistry. Sir William Perkin was a founding Member of SCI and this Medal was first presented in New York to Perkin himself (more details).

Nominated by: SCI America International Group, or the American Chemical Society, the American Institute of Chemical Engineers, the American Institute of Chemists, the Electrochemical Society or the American International Group of the Societe de Chimie Industrielle Qualification: Innovation in applied chemistry resulting in the outstanding commercial development and a resident of the USA

Eligibility: Anyone residing in the United States of America who is actively engaged in the chemical profession in the judgement of the Perkin Medal Committee for outstanding work done at any time during their career, whether this work proves successful at the time of execution or publication, or becomes valuable in subsequent development of the industry.

To be considered for the Perkin Medal Award, a candidate should have done applied chemical work resulting in outstanding commercial development. Their contribution may represent either personal scientific accomplishment or leadership of group effort. It should not have been primarily administrative or promotional, or limited to a role in initiating the activity. Their contribution should have clearly played a major role in the success of the development.

Description of Award: Medal presentation and address by the recipent

Presented at: September meeting of the America Group

Frequency: Annual

Nomination Deadline: 1 June

Selected by:

  • SCI America Group Chair
  • SCI America Group Vice Chair
  • SCI America Group Immediate Past Chair
  • America Chemical Society President
  • America Institute of Chemical Engineers President
  • Chemical Heritage Foundation President

The SCI America Group Secretary is a non-voting member of selection committee and conducts process.

Related Links

Share this article