We use cookies to ensure that our site works correctly and provides you with the best experience. If you continue using our site without changing your browser settings, we'll assume that you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use and how to manage them by reading our cookies policy. Hide

Purvis Memorial Award


Established 1947

This award recognizes is presented to an individual for significant strategy development and successful implementation within the Canadian chemical Industry. Read more on Arthur Purvis.

Eligibility: Recipients of the Purvis Memorial Award are men and women who have made a major contribution to the development and implementation of particular and distinctive business or technical strategies. These strategies must have resulted in the strengthening of Canadian industry or academic or research institutions in the field of chemistry.

Naturally, in today's diversified and complex industrial environment, this definition of 'chemical industry' embraces not only traditional chemical companies focusing on chemical manufacture and distribution, but also industries such as biotechnology, coatings, crop protection, environmental services, fertilizer, food, mining/metal extraction, oil/gas, pharmaceuticals, plastics, pulp/paper and synthetic fibres.

Award winners are likely to be in senior managerial positions in Canadian industry. They may also be Canadian academics with a clear industry connection and who have had strategic influence on Canadian industry.

Membership in the Institute or SCI is not a prerequisite for receiving this award.

Description of Award: A plaque

Presented at: The award shall normally be presented at the annual CIC-SCI Canada Awards Dinner, typically held in early April, where the winner will be expected to attend and deliver a short acceptance speech. The winner may be invited to present a lecture at this event.

Frequency: Annual

Nomination Deadline: 30 September

Selected by:

  • SCI Canada Council Chair
  • SCI Canada Director of Awards
  • Other appointments as per approval by SCI Canada Chair
  • CIC Chair
  • CIC Executive Director (non-voting)

Sponsor: CIC/SCI Canada

Related Links

Share this article