20 July - 22 July 2020

UK Colloids 2020 - International Colloid and Surface Science Symposium

Organised by:

SCI’s Colloid and Surface Chemistry Group and RSC’s Colloid and Interface Science Group

Liverpool, UK

Register for this event

This is the fourth Colloid Science conference in this series and will be held in Liverpool from 20 – 22 July 2020. It is being jointly organised by RSC’s Colloid and Interface Science Group and SCI’s Colloid and Surface Chemistry Group and will provide a perfect opportunity for UK and international researchers interested in colloid and interface science to meet, present and discuss issues related to current developments in this field.


Plenary Speakers
Dr Malcolm Faers, Bayer CropScience
Prof Jayne Lawrence, University of Manchester
Prof Norman Wagner, University of Delaware

Keynote Speakers

Rheology, Soft Solids & Complex Fluids
Prof Erin Koos, KU Leuven, Belgium
Prof Jan Vermant, ETH Zürich, Switzerland

Prof Karen Elder, University of Bath, UK

Colloids & Surfaces in the Health & Life Sciences
Prof Aline Miller, University of Manchester, UK
Dr Adam Perriman, University of Bristol, UK

Formulation Science & Engineering
Prof Ray Dagastine, University of Melbourne, Australia
Prof Tommy Nylander, Lund University, Sweden

Colloidal Suspensions
Dr Elodie Bourgeat-Lami, LCCP Lyon, France

Colloids in Motion
Prof Jan Dhont, Forschungszentrum Jülich, Germany
Dr Patrick Warren, Unilever, UK
Prof Alfons van Blaaderen, University Utrecht, Netherlands

Wetting & Adhesion
Prof Erica Wanless, University of Newcastle, Australia

For the current programme and full list of confirmed speakers, please click here

Conference themes
  • Rheology, soft solids and complex fluids (chairs: Andrew Howe & Phil Threlfall Holmes)
  • Biomimetics (chair: Chris Lorentz)
  • Colloids & surface science in medicine and industry (chairs: Chris Blanford, Annela Seddon, Karen Syres)
  • Formulation science and engineering (chairs: Nick Ainger & Ian Howell)
  • Nanoparticles and nanostructured materials (chairs: Gemma Davies & Dionisia Jesus)
  • Foams, emulsions and bubbles (chairs: Lee Fielding, Kristian Waters & Bob Pugh)
  • Colloidal suspensions (chairs: Jereon van Duijneveldt & Alex Routh)
  • Self assembly (chairs: Dwaipayan Chakrabarti & Stefano Sacanna)
  • Colloids in motion (chairs: Joe Keddie & Wim Thielmans)
  • Polymers, gels and hydrocolloids (chairs: Cecile Dreiss, Fiona Hatton & João Cabral)
  • Encapsulation and release (chairs: Olivier Cayre, David Higgins & Andrew Gray)
  • Wetting and adhesion (chair: Shirin Alexander)
  • General session (chairs: Richard Greenwood, Matthew Ruszala & Emily Summerton)
  • Poster sessions (chairs: Richard Greenwood & Martin Riley)

Venue and Contact


Liverpool, UK

Constable and Smith

Telephone: +44 (0)20 7598 1561

Email: deborah@constableandsmith.com

Registration is now open. Further information can be found here.

Key Dates

September 2019
Opening of On-line Registration and call for Abstracts

April 2020
Oral abstract submission deadline

April 2020
Presenters notified

4 May 2020
Early bird registration deadline

June 2020
Poster abstract deadline