We use cookies to ensure that our site works correctly and provides you with the best experience. If you continue using our site without changing your browser settings, we'll assume that you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use and how to manage them by reading our cookies policy. Hide

Group News

Emma Parmee Gordon E Moore 2009 Medalist

Emma Parmee

Emma Parmee will receive the 2009 SCI Gordon E Moore Medal for playing a key role in the discovery of the dipeptidyl peptidase 4 (DPP-4) inhibitor JANUVIA™ (sitagliptin), the first and only DPP-4 inhibitor approved for the treatment of type 2 diabetes mellitus.

Perkin Medal winner Dr Richard B Silverman

Richard Silverman

Dr Richard B Silverman is the John Evans Professor of Chemistry at Northwestern University and also holds an appointment in the Department of Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, and Cell Biology.

ACS CEO Reflects on the 2009 SCI Global Summit

Madeleine Jacobs

The SCI Global Summit was a rare chance to step outside the workaday world and share ideas to cut through the economic gloom, said one its most prominent attendees, Dr Madeleine Jacobs, Executive Director and CEO of the American Chemical Society.

Jeffrey M Lipton: 2009 Chemical Industry Medal winner

Jeffrey M Lipton

In the foreword to the book American Chemical Enterprise, published to celebrate the centennial of SCI’s America International Group, Hal Sorgenti, then Chairman, wrote of Americans’ ‘delight’ in ‘hearing of people who use their creative talents imaginatively to invent, to innovate and to organise new technologies’. A desire to honour such people; those who have made a personal contribution to the advance of society and economy through technology, is at the core of SCI America Group’s identity.

SCI awards the 2009 Chemical Industry Medal to Jeffrey Lipton

SCI has named Jeffrey M Lipton, Chief Executive Officer of NOVA Chemicals, to receive the 2009 Chemical Industry Medal.