We use cookies to ensure that our site works correctly and provides you with the best experience. If you continue using our site without changing your browser settings, we'll assume that you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use and how to manage them by reading our cookies policy. Hide

Meet the Committee

Chair's message

SCI Canada was formed in 1902 and was one of three chemistry associations in Canada until 1945 when the Chemical Institute of Canada (CIC) was formed (to replace all three). At the time the SCI Canada executive had agreed to cease operations in Canada but at the last minute the senior managers of the then robust Canadian chemical industry companies decided to keep SCI as an entity but limit its activities to giving merit awards to new chemistry and chemical engineering graduates and career awards to individuals in industry, academia and government.

In October 2012, an arrangement was agreed with the Chemical Institute of Canada (CIC), whereby SCI Canada has become a forum of CIC. Under the agreement, the long-established SCI brand remains in use.

We will continue to hold our Annual Awards dinner and seminar each Spring, with approximately 150 - 200 people in attendance which includes many students and representatives from chemical industry.

Our permanent Canadian address is now in Canada's Capital in Ottawa at 130 Slater Street, Suite 550, K1P 6E2.

David Beckman 
SCI Canada

Committee biographies and photographs

David Beckman

Mr David Beckman

Ordinary Members:

Mr Roland Andersson

Dr John Blachford

Dr John Blachford

Derek Heywood

Mr Derek Heywood

Graham Knowles

Dr Graham Knowles


Mr Andres Pugi


Dr James Smith

bernard west

Dr Bernard West

Share this article