Calling all YCP alumni: Celebrating 30 years

26 June 2019

At the 138th AGM on 3 July 2019, SCI will be celebrating the 30th anniversary of its Young Chemists’ Panel (YCP).

YCP provides a forum for all aspects of pure and applied synthetic chemistry. Established in 1990, it is closely affiliated with SCI’s Fine Chemicals Group, with meetings aimed primarily at less experienced members of the academic and industrial communities, through workshop-based meetings as well as more traditional one-day conferences.

As part of the celebrations, Chris Hill, Executive Director of Chemistry at Charles River Laboratories and the first chair of the YCP (1992-94), will speak at the Summer Reception. During his time as an SCI member, Chris has chaired the Fine Chemicals Group (2004-05) and received SCI’s Distinguished Service Award in 2008.

His achievements at SCI include the establishment of a Young Chemists’ Award in the form of a fully funded postgraduate studentship, the launch of the annual Young Chemist in Industry Symposium, which is now in its 26th year, and the creation of initiatives for the promotion of chemistry in schools.

‘This event promises to be a great occasion to highlight the many successes of the YCP and offers an opportunity for former members to reconnect as well as meet the current panel to share their collective experiences,’ says Chris Jones, Chair of YCP.

SCI is keen to reconnect with all YCP alumni to help commemorate its achievements over the past three decades. Please contact us to find out more or register via the website.

Please keep an eye on our website for updates on voting and this year’s AGM. To ensure that voting is quick and easy, electronic voting will be the default option for all members, unless you have notified us that you wish to vote by post.

Related links:

Show me news from
All themes
All categories
All years
search by