Celebrating Oxfordshire's next generation of young scientists

11 Nov 2013

The achievements of 70 Year 13 students from 30 schools throughout Oxfordshire were celebrated at the 2013 Young Scientists of the Year event on 16 October 2013.

Organised by Science Oxford, held at the Sheldonian Theatre and supported by the Nuffield Department of Medicine, the Science and Technology Facilities Council (STFC), and SCI, the event aimed to honour and inspire the county's best Year 13 physicists, chemists and biologists.

Each Oxfordshire secondary school was invited to nominate its best student in each of the three disciplines using their own criteria. A total of 30 participating schools and an audience of over 200 people attended the evening's celebrations. Nomination comments ranged from 'She is a pleasure to teach and is highly motivated to succeed further' to 'Consistently excellent results throughout her AS year, and a deep love of and understanding of the subject, backed up by meticulous practical work' or 'Excellent aptitude coupled with a strong work ethic'. Both state and independent schools were represented at the event.

In addition to a canapé reception in the historic Sheldonian Theatre, there was an inspirational keynote presentation given by Prof Fiona Powrie of the Nuffield Department of Medicine, winner of the 2012 Louis-Jeantet Prize for Medicine. Two physicists working at STFC Rutherford Appleton Laboratory - Elin McCormack from the RAL Space Facility, and engineering apprentice Joshua Preston - highlighted some of the different career pathways available to young science students. The evening was rounded out by an entertaining and informative talk by Martin Elliott, Director of Chemical Relations Ltd, on behalf of SCI (pictured).

Event organiser Brian Macken said, 'It was great to come together with parents, carers, sponsors and teachers in celebrating the scientific achievements of this group of exceptional young people.'

Related Links

Show me news from
All themes
All categories
All years
search by