We use cookies to ensure that our site works correctly and provides you with the best experience. If you continue using our site without changing your browser settings, we'll assume that you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use and how to manage them by reading our cookies policy. Hide

The Annual Review Meeting goes From strength to strength

Dominic Affron

14 Jan 2015

The SCI Young Chemists' Panel's 'Annual Review Meeting' made a triumphant return to SCI Belgrave Square last December. This annual event, now in its 22nd year, is firmly established as one of the highlights of the conference calendar for organic and medicinal chemists. Its enduring popularity stems from its simple and popular formula: a small number of hand-picked young UK academics each review an important area of current research. The review lectures are supported by the provision to all attendees of hard copies of all the slides and key references, a feature of this meeting which is particularly well received. In addition to the review lectures - keynote speakers, usually either leading academics or high profile industrial figures - are invited to talk about their own work. Recent keynote speakers include Eric Carreira, Darren Dixon, Tim Donohoe, Matthew Gaunt and Adam Nelson.

The 2014 meeting featured two sessions – firstly the synthesis of strained rings was excellently reviewed by Dr James Bull (Imperial College) and the former Chair of the young Chemists' Panel, Dr Tom Sheppard (UCL). The first keynote lecture, kindly sponsored by UCB, was delivered by Prof Varinder Aggarwal who presented his group's latest work on the synthesis of three-membered rings from sulfur-ylids.

The second session was designed to highlight recent advances in C-C, C-O and C-N coupling reactions. The two review lectures were authoritively presented by Dr Chris Jones (QMUL) and Dr Alistair Boyer (University of Glasgow). The final talk of the day, sponsored by Fine Contract Research, was an entertaining and informative talk by Prof Lukas Goossen from the Technische Universität Kaiserslautern on his groups pioneering work on decarboxylative coupling reactions. The afternoon also featured a lively poster session. The prize for best poster, sponsored by Peakdale Molecular, was awarded to Dominic Affron (pictured above).

The 2014 Organising Committee of Will Farnaby (Takeda), Mark Betson (Peakdale Molecular), Richard Castledine (Fine Contract Research), Liz Jones (UCB Pharma) and Marc Kimber (Loughbrough University) were thrilled with the success of the meeting. Plans are already underway for the next meeting, to be held in December 2015.

Dr Mark Betson,
SCI Young Chemists' Panel

Related Links

Share this article