25 March 2021

SCI Canada Awards

Organized by:

SCI Canada

Online Webinar: 14.00 - 16.00 (EST Canada)

Registration Closed

This event is no longer available for registration.


SCI Events - Canada flag

Download the SCI Canada Awards brochure here.

Joius to recognize and celebrate achievements in the Canadian chemical industry at this years’ SCI Canada Awards Event, to be held on-line for 2021. The Awards will be followed by a panel on the topic of ‘Chemistry in a Time of Crisis’. We look forward to being able to hold this event as a dinner next year, and bring academia, industry and business together to celebrate achievement & excellence in our industry. 

This free seminar works to bring science and business together by enhancing connections between industry and chemical science and engineering professionals.

Canada Medal: Naushad Jamani
Naushad Jamani retired as SVP Olefins at Nova Chemicals in 2019 after over 30 years of service to the industry in Canada, including building Nova into the largest chemical company in Canada and its leading proponent of Responsible Care.

International Award: Dr Jimi Tjong
Dr Tjong of FORD Canada leads the Powertrain Engineering, Research and Development Centre (PERDC) at Windsor Essex in partnership with Canada’s leading Universities and is known globally for his pioneering and innovative ideas, vision and leadership in making the global transportation value chain greener and sustainable, including low carbon fuel and low carbon lightweight and functional materials.

Kalev Pugi Award: Dr Jamal Chaouki
Dr Chaouki of École Polytechnique de Montréal has a significant track record of industrially oriented research focused on the development of innovative technologies and processes for conversion of waste, biomass and complex raw materials to energy, fuels and chemicals.

LeSueur Memorial Award: Dr Laurel Schafer
Dr Schafer of the University of British Columbia is recognized for her work in amination processes and catalysis, and in enantioselective catalytic synthesis of biopolymers.

Purvis Memorial Award: Dr Sarah Gallagher & Dr Cara Tannenbaum 
Cara Tannenbaum is the Departmental Science Advisor to Health Canada and a Professor in the Faculties of Medicine and Pharmacy at the Université de Montréal. During the first wave of the pandemic, she transformed the idea of Can-COVID into reality, co-founding a virtual real-time collaboration, communication and coordination platform to crowdsource scientists’ knowledge about SARS-Cov-2 into government decision-making.

Sarah Gallagher is the Science Advisor to the President of the Canadian Space Agency and a Professor of Physics and Astronomy at Western University. In March 2020, she applied expertise gained from contributing to large astronomy project teams to determine the technical requirements and set up the collaboration framework for the rapid implementation of CanCOVID.

Outreach Award: Dr Joe Schwarcz 
Dr Joe Schwarcz is globally known for his outstanding reach out to society at large for his knowledge-rich and highly entertaining public lectures on topics, such as science, body, mind, and society; Joe made tremendous contribution to the chemistry in everyday life by popularizing Chemistry throughout his lifelong media career.

Julia Levy Award: Dr Lakshmi Kotra
The Julia Levy Award is made in recognition of successful commercialisation of innovation in Canada, in the field of Bio-medical Science and EngineeringDr Lakshmi Kotra inventions span novel small molecules for cronic diseases as well as novel industrial technologies, and several of them have been successful start-ups and further licensed for commercialization. Dr. Kotra has contributed to several drug discovery and drug delivery projects including anti-HIV drugs, antibacterials, insulin, antimalarials, drugs targeting multiple sclerosis, and medical cannabis-based therapeutics.

Canada Student Merit Awards
SCI Canada Student Merit Awards are awarded annually to the student who has achieved the highest standing in the 4th and final year of a chemistry, biochemistry or chemical engineering undergraduate program. Student Merit Award winners from the last 2 years will be recognized at this event and are warmly invited to attend.

Panel: Chemistry in a time of Crisis

Never before in our lifetime have we experienced a crisis like we have with the Coronavirus pandemic. Chemistry has and will continue to manage the journey out of the place we currently find ourselves. Historically chemistry has lead us through difficult times in the past and will be there for us now and in the future. Academia and the chemistry industry working together will have a profound effect on the road to recovery and beyond.

Please join the Society of the Chemical Industry on March 25th when we bring academia and industry together to discuss and highlight the challenges, learnings and successes that will guide us in the future. 


SCI Canada Award Winners and their supporters, SCI Canada Student Merit Award recipients and leaders from industry and academia.

Welcome & Introduction -Bob Masterson, Chemistry Industry Association of Canada and Sharon Todd, CEO, SCI
Student Merit Award Winners Recognition  

Presentation of the Julia Levy Award to Dr Lakshmi Kotra

Presentation of Kalev Pugi Award to Dr Jamal Chaouki

Presentation of International Award to Dr Jimi Tjong

Presentation of LeSueur Memorial Award to Dr Laurel Schafer

Presentation of the Purvis Memorial Award to Dr Sarah Gallagher Dr Cara Tannenbaum

Inauguration and presentation of the Outreach Award to Dr Joe Schwarcz

Presentation of Canada Medal to Naushad Jamani 

Panel discussion: "Chemistry in a time of Crisis"
Closing remarks


For further information and prices, please email conferences@soci.org

Conference Team

Tel: +44 (0)20 7598 1561

Email: conferences@soci.org