Announcing our 2022 David Miller Travel Bursary Award recipients

Pictured: David Miller

SCI is delighted to announce this year’s recipients of the David Miller Travel Bursary Award, which aims to give young plant scientists and horticulturists the opportunity of overseas or domestic travel in connection with their horticultural careers.

Recipients of the award, which is given annually by the SCI Horticulture Group, receive a £500 travel grant, a year’s Student Membership of SCI, and a year’s Eden Project Membership, and are admitted to the Society of Chemical Industry College of Scholars.

Award winners are also invited to give a talk on their travel and project at the annual David Miller Award event, which will be held this year on 7th October at SCI Headquarters in London.

This year’s recipients are:

Lauren Hibbert University of Southampton
Travel destination: University of California Davis, USA
Title: Developing Watercress with Improved Phosphate use and Optimisation for Indoor Vertical Farming

Jessie Sweetman University of Bristol
Travel destination: Kraków, Poland (Towards PhD)
Title: Enhancing the Stress Tolerance and Shelf Life of Horticultural Crops Through Light Quality Manipulation

Sophie Read University of Reading
Travel destination: International Horticulture Congress 2022, Angers, France
Title: Towards Year-Round Production of UK Strawberries

David Miller was the founder of SCI's Horticulture Group. He was initially instrumental in forging closer links between the Institute of Horticulture, where he was a past President, and SCI before he set up the group. He was always one to look ahead, and the encouragement and support he gave to young people at the outset of their horticulture careers was fundamental to his philosophy.

Show me news from
All themes
All categories
All years
search by