We use cookies to ensure that our site works correctly and provides you with the best experience. If you continue using our site without changing your browser settings, we'll assume that you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use and how to manage them by reading our cookies policy. Hide

First Call for Nominations - 2020 Graham Lecture

Thomas Graham

30 Jan 2020

The SCI Colloid & Surface Chemistry & RSC Colloid & Interface Science Groups are calling for nominations for the 2020 Graham Lecture: a mid-career award in colloid & interface science.

Named after Thomas Graham, who is considered one of the founders of colloid science, the Graham Lecture award was established to fill the gap between the McBain Medal for early career scientists and the Rideal Lecture, which is a “lifetime achievement award” for a person making a distinguished and sustained contribution to colloid and interface science. Typically the Graham Lecturer will be in the prime of their research career, having established an international reputation in colloid science, and will have already made distinguished contributions to the field. Graham Lecturers will typically have the prospect of at least another 15 years of active research ahead.

The deadline for nominations is 1 March 2020.

Nominations should be made by a proposer and seconder (who each must be members of either the RSC’s CISG or SCI’s CSSG) for a candidate fitting the eligibility criteria. The successful candidate will be invited to present the Graham Lecture at a suitable colloids and interface science symposium sometime in 2020.

The names of proposers and seconders, once logged, will be redacted before the nominations are put before the Joint Colloids Group Committee for selection. A decision will be made on the basis of the case made by the proposers, together with what is known about the candidates in the public domain.

The Committee reserves the right to make no award in the event of there being no suitable candidate for the award.

Those intending to propose a candidate are encouraged to contact the Award Coordinator (Prof. Joseph Keddie, e-mail: j.keddie@surrey.ac.uk) for guidance regarding eligibility before submitting their nomination.

Related Links:

Share this article