Nanostructures Award Symposium

10 Oct 2014

The British Carbon Group (RSC, IOP and SCI) is delighted to be co-hosting three important RSC Faraday Division Award lectures at a special event to be held at Burlington House on Friday 31 October 2014.

The three RSC Awardees are working in the field of nanocarbons, and the afternoon event will be completed by the 2014 Ubbelohde Award Lecture (directly sponsored by The British Carbon Group) which this year is also on a similar theme.

The Marlow Award, which was awarded this year to Dr Cinzia Casiraghi from the University of Manchester, is awarded in recognition of the most meritorious contributions to physical chemistry or chemical physics from researchers within ten years after their PhD. The award is named for George Stanley Withers Marlow, who was the secretary of the Faraday Society from 1926 until his death in 1948. It is to his memory that attendees at Faraday Discussions toast with the Loving Cup.

The Corday-Morgan Prize is named for the parents of Sir Gilbert Morgan, a former President of both the Chemical Society and the Society of Chemical Industry. Up to three prizes are available annually for the most meritorious contributions to chemistry by researchers under the age of 40. Professor Milo Shaffer from Imperial College London is one of the 2014 winners.

The Centenary Prizes are awarded to outstanding chemists, who are also exceptional communicators, from overseas to give lectures in the British Isles. Eiichi Nakamura from the University of Tokyo was awarded the prize in 2014. The prize was founded in 1947 to commemorate the centenary of the formation of the Chemical Society in 1841.

Dr Alisa Becker
Programme Manager, Physical Sciences
Royal Society of Chemistry

Related Links

Show me news from
All themes
All categories
All years
search by