LeSueur Memorial Award

Established 1955

The LeSueur Memorial Award is presented to an individual for the development of technical excellence, in either a university/research institute or an industrial setting in Canada. The contribution to the Canadian industry, should be provided through chemical creativity and innovation.

Award Information

Award presentation and prize

The LeSueur Memorial Award is normally presented at the annual SCI Canada Awards Dinner, typically held in early April, where the winner will be expected to attend and deliver a short acceptance speech. The winner may be invited to present a lecture at this event and will also receive a plaque.

The 2020 winner of the LeSueur Memorial Award is: Prof Laurel Schafer; British Columbia Faculty of Science

Eligibility Criteria

    • Benefit to the Canadian chemical industry
    • For the purposes of this award, 'industry' includes not only traditional chemical companies that focus on chemical manufacture and distribution, but also companies involved in biotechnology, coatings, crop protection, environmental services, fertilizer, food, mining/metal extraction, oil/gas, pharmaceuticals, plastics, pulp /paper and synthetic fibres
    • Some of the work can have been completed outside of Canada, but the recipient must have a strong Canadian connection
    • SCI membership is not a prerequisite for receiving this award
    Career Stage
    • Senior - Mid to late career
    • Chemical-based industry
    • Canadian connection


Frequency Annual
Nominations close 30 September

Additional Information

Code of Ethics for Members

LeSueur Memorial Award - Image credit: Ernest Arthur LeSueur; Library and Archives Canada; archival reference number R11325-3, PA-215518 Le Sueur Matthews family collection; Gift of Dr. David Le Sueur and Barbara Fleet Matthews

Other SCI Awards

Kalev Pugi Award

The Kalev Pugi Award acknowledges exceptional achievements in research and development by an individual or team, which is of benefit to Canada. The technical excellence can be developed in a university, industrial setting or a research institution in Canada.

Julia Levy Award

The Julia Levy Award is presented to an individual to recognize successful commercialization of innovation in Canada, specifically in the field of Bio-medical Science and Engineering.

Awards News