Presentation of the David Miller Awards 2014

2 Oct 2014

Members of the SCI Horticulture Group met last week to congratulate the winners of this year's David Miller Travel Bursary and to hear presentations from them on the work they are doing. The Awards were presented by Tony Girard on behalf of the sponsors VHB Herbs and the Eden Project.

Antje Fiebig (pictured above) from the University of Lancaster described her work on feedback regulation of irrigation via soil moisture monitoring and her trip to the ISHS Congress in Brisbane, Australia.  She was followed by Sebastian Eves-van den Akker (pictured above) from the University of Leeds who talked about his investigations into how highly specialised endo-parasites manage to have such broad host ranges.  He had used his award to attend the International Congress on Molecular Plant-Microbe Interactions in Rhodes, Greece. Both presentations are available via the links below.

Amanda Hamilton from the University of Reading, a 2013 winner, then updated members on the trip she had made to Tunisia, helped by her award, to learn about their Bioassay techniques for aphid pathogenic bacteria.

Winners of the award receive £250 towards their travel and get three year's free membership of the Eden Project.

Related Links

Show me news from
All themes
All categories
All years
search by