Sebastian Eves-van den Akker awarded BBSRC Anniversary Future Leader Fellowship

13 Feb 2015

Congratulations are due to Sebastian Eves-van den Akker, one of this year's David Miller Travel Bursary winners awarded by the Horticulture Group. He has been awarded one of twelve BBSRC Anniversary Future Leader Fellowships to study the molecular basis of plant-pathogen interactions. The aim of this type of award is to facilitate the transition from early stage researcher to fully independent research leader. To do this he will be working to develop independent research with Professor Paul Birch at the University of Dundee, and Dr Mark Banfield at the John Innes Centre, Norwich. His overarching goal over the next three years will be to answer the question: how do plant-pathogens manipulate their host? It is hoped that this will lead to the development of novel forms plant disease resistance.

Developing this ambitious proposal at the forefront of plant-pathogen research was made possible by the David Miller Travel Bursary which he used to attend the 2014 International Symposium on Molecular Plant Microbe Interaction in Rhodes, Greece. This provided excellent exposure to state-of-the-art science and allowed face-to-face meetings to discuss the project.

Sebastian said, 'this is an exciting position to be in directly following my PhD and is the best possible start to a career in academia'. He added that he is 'very grateful for all the support from SCI and in particular the David Miller Travel Bursary'.

Related Linked

Show me news from
All themes
All categories
All years
search by