Westminster Medal

Established 1997

STEM for Britain is a poster competition to showcase scientific research carried out by early career researchers across 5 disciplines of STEM: Chemistry, Biological and Biomedical Sciences, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering and to give members of both Houses of Parliament an insight into the outstanding research work being undertaken in UK universities by early-career researchers.

As part of the Parliamentary and Scientific Committee’s (P&SC) annual STEM for Britain event, The Westminster Medal is awarded to the overall winner and is decided from the gold winners of each discipline. The medal is awarded in memory of the late Dr Eric Wharton, who did so much to establish SET for Britain as a regular event in the Parliamentary calendar. Dr Eric Wharton was a prominent member of SCI's London Group when the event was established in 1997.

Award Information


Applications will be accepted by self-submission of an abstract. Selected applicants will be asked to submit their poster electronically two weeks before the event and the poster must be brought as a hard copy to the event for display.


The abstract judges are all scientists and engineers and select applications on the basis of good science and engineering. The abstract could be more technical in nature whilst the final poster should be aimed at a lay audience. The Westminster Medal judging panel will include Stephen Metcalfe MP, Stephen Benn, 3rd Viscount Stansgate, Sue Wharton and a representative from SCI.


The Westminster Medal and certificate will be presented at the STEM for Britain event in March by a senior SCI representative. Finalists of the medal will also receive a certificate. The winner and finalists will be given free SCI membership for a year and will be invited to participate in relevant SCI committee activity which may include opportunities to present their work at an SCI conference.

Eligibility Criteria

    • Scientific research
    Career Stage
    • Early career
    Across five disciplines of STEM:
    • Chemistry
    • Biological and Biomedical Sciences
    • Physics
    • Mathematics
    • Engineering


Frequency Annually
Applications open Mid-September
Applications close End November

Previous Recipients



Poster title


Devon Crouch
University of Liverpool

‘Stop thief! Using biomaterials to tackle glaucoma’


Adele Parry
University of Leeds

‘A better lateral flow test? The design of novel crystal droplet biosensors’


Ben Fernando
University of Oxford

‘Seismology at the extremes – from the oceans to mars’


Sarah Houston
University College London

Using the eye as a window to the brain in multiple sclerosis ’

Related links

Other SCI Awards

Joseph Bazalgette Award

The Joseph Bazalgette Award was formerly named the Construction Materials Group Young Researchers' Award and is awarded to the person producing the best paper/presentation given at a Construction Materials Young Researchers' Forum.

George Bessey Award

The award allows the Construction Materials Group to recognise the efforts of dedicated and exceptional Members who have given their time to recruit new Members, administer the Group's affairs, write for publications, and/or otherwise contribute.

Awards News