Celebrating Canada’s chemistry

05 February 2021

‘Our Award Winners represent the excellence and achievement we all aspire to, and have all made significant contributions to our industry.’

The 2021 SCI Canada Awards Event will be held online. Marking the achievements of Canada’s chemical sector, the event will celebrate the work of award winners from 2020 as well as 2021. This will then be followed by a panel discussion on the topic: Chemistry in a Time of Crisis, where the impact and importance of chemistry will be discussed as the world looks to move beyond the pandemic.

The line-up of winners for this prestigious award come from across business and academia, each individual having made a significant impact in shaping Canada’s chemical and chemical using sectors. The 2021 SCI Canada Awards Event will take place on 25 March 14:00-16:00 EST Canada.

The Canada Medal: This goes to Naushad Jamani, who retired as SVP Olefins at Nova Chemicals in 2019 after 30 years of service. His many achievements include building Nova Chemicals into Canada’s largest chemical company.

The International Award: Dr Jimi Tjong at FORD Canada leads the Powertrain Engineering, Research and Development Centre at Windsor Essex in partnership with Canada’s leading universities. He is known around the world for his leadership in making the global transportation chain greener and more sustainable.

Kalev Pugi Award: Dr Jamal Chaouki of École Polytechnique de Montréal has a significant track record of industrially oriented research developing technologies converting waste, biomass and complex raw materials into energy, fuels and chemicals.

LeSueur Memorial Award: Dr Laurel Schafer of the University of British Columbia is recognised for her work on amination processes and catalysis, and enantioselective catalytic synthesis of biopolymers.

Purvis Memorial Award: Dr Sarah Gallagher and Dr Cara Tannenbaum: Dr Gallagher is the Science Adviser to the President of the Canadian Space Agency and Professor of Physics and Astronomy at Western University. Dr Tannenbaum is the Departmental Science Advisor to Health Canada and a Professor in the Faculties of Medicine and Pharmacy at the Université de Montréal.

Outreach Award: Dr Joe Schwarcz is known globally for his knowledge-rich and entertaining public lectures on topics such as science, body, mind and society. Making a tremendous contribution to the impact of chemistry in everyday life, he has popularised chemistry throughout his media career.

Julia Levy Award: Dr Lakshmi Kotra’s innovations span novel small molecules for chronic diseases, as well as novel industrial technologies. Dr Kotra has contributed to number of drug discovery and drug delivery projects.

Canada Student Merit Awards: Presented to the student who has achieved the highest standing in the final year of chemistry, biochemistry or chemical engineering undergraduate program. The winners of these awards from the past two years will be recognised.

Commenting, Bob Masterson, Chair SCI Canada Award Nominations Committee, President and CEO, CIAC said: ‘Our Award Winners represent the excellence and achievement we all aspire to, and have all made significant contributions to our industry. The committee and I look forward to formally presenting the awards and celebrating their achievements.’

Related links:

Show me news from
All themes
All categories
All years
search by