Royal Society and SCI studentships

9 Dec 2013

As previously outlined, former SCI life member, Dr Sydney Andrew bequeathed a generous legacy of over £1.3m to SCI for the founding of the Andrew Medal Lecture on the theme of Neglected Science - areas of science which though of importance in agriculture and the chemical industry nevertheless receive scant attention from academic research and for academic research into neglected science. SCI has partnered with the Royal Society to fund three PhD studentships to complement the existing Royal Society Industry Fellowship Scheme (funding academics to work in industry or people from industry to work in academic institutions for specific innovation projects).

Prospective industry fellows apply for a studentship to augment their project team. SCI funds students over three years to work on projects that fall within SCI's remit and meet the definition of neglected science as per the legacy. SCI member, Sir Geoffrey Allen FRS is an observer on the Royal Society panel, which selects the award winners.

The Royal Society has recently confirmed that Dr Stuart Reid, lecturer at the University of the West of Scotland, has been awarded an industry fellowship, including a Royal Society-Society of Chemical Industry studentship. Dr Reid intends to undertake research into high performance optical filters for use in gas sensors under the auspices of the Thin Film Centre at UWS and industrial partner, Gas Sensing Solutions Ltd (link below).

The project will focus on improving the ability of the gas sensors to distinguish between different gases, such as carbon dioxide (CO2) and anaesthetic gas nitrous oxide. The technology will have potential relevance within a wide range of industrial applications in health and safety, process control, air quality monitoring and medical monitoring and diagnostics.

Dr Reid is currently seeking an appropriate student to participate in the research project and further details about the successful student will be announced in future issue. SCI congratulates Dr Reid on this award and looks forward to supporting this groundbreaking research.

Joanne Lyall
Executive Director, 2010-13

Related Links

Show me news from
All themes
All categories
All years
search by