We use cookies to ensure that our site works correctly and provides you with the best experience. If you continue using our site without changing your browser settings, we'll assume that you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use and how to manage them by reading our cookies policy. Hide

Food for Thought 2014

Katerina Alba

5 Jun 2014

Food for Thought, SCI's Food Group's annual evening event which celebrates the winners of the student competitions it supports, was held on 20 May 2014 at the IPA, in Belgrave Square, London.

The four winners from last year's Young Scientist and Nursten Flavour Symposium competitions presented on subjects as diverse as the use of pectin extract from okra pods as an emulsifier, through to the beneficial effects of coffee polyphenols. The winners represented four universities – Huddersfield, Teesside, Reading and Northumbria.

We were also delighted to welcome Dr Ruramayi M Nzuma-Mswaka, a Daphne Jackson Fellow, supported by the Food Group. Dr Mswaka rounded off the evening's presentations talking about her work at Queen's University Belfast, developing a new method for detection of Campylobacter jejuni; a subject of huge relevance to the food industry, consumers and government. The evening finished with light refreshments and an opportunity to network and ask further questions of the speakers.

Food for Thought was preceded by the Food Group's AGM. There were several important changes to the committee including electing a new Treasurer, Ditte Hobbs and Secretary, Lisa Methven. The committee co-opted the five winners from this year's Young Scientist and Flavour Symposiums, who have joined the committee via the Food Group's Young Ambassador scheme (for more details on this scheme please click on the link below). Dr Mswaka was also co-opted to the committee.

Andy Kerridge,
Chair, Food Group

Related Links

Share this article